fbpx

Ulpan BaBayit and Israeli Songs

Become conversational in Hebrew in ways that suit your learning style!

 

Summer 2024 Semester Starts July 22!

We’re now offering two ways to immerse yourself in Hebrew: our long-standing Ulpan BaBayit classes and Israeli Songs, a new class which uses music to teach the language.

Both are opportunities for students everywhere, at all skill levels, to study Hebrew with our world-class faculty in an intimate, congenial setting with students of all ages.

We offer six levels of Ulpan, from beginner to advanced, to ensure each student’s needs are met. 

In Israeli Songs students will explore pieces of classic and modern Israeli music side by side, in simple and accessible Hebrew. Content will relate to the seasons, holidays, various creators and musicians, and current events. Students will practice conversational skills while learning more about Israeli culture

Classes are held on Zoom, and recordings are available to students.

2024 Class Schedules

ALEF (BEGINNERS)

Tuesdays & Thursdays 10:30 – 13:00 Eastern

7:30am—10:00am Pacific / 9:30am—12:00pm Central / 5:30pm—8:00pm Israel

BET

Mondays & Thursdays 10 -12:30 Eastern

7:00am—9:30am Pacific / 9:00am—11:30am Central / 5:00pm—7:30pm Israel

GIMMEL

Mondays & Thursdays 10 – 12:30 Eastern

7:00am—9:30am Pacific / 9:00am—11:30am Central / 5:00pm—7:30pm Israel

*Please note that the Gimmel and Daled classes are subject to final enrollment data. If your first-choice class does not launch we will work with you to arrange an alternative or a refund.

DALED

Mondays & Thursdays 10 -12:30 Eastern

7:00am—9:30am Pacific / 9:00am—11:30am Central / 5:00pm—7:30pm Israel

*Please note that the Gimmel and Daled classes are subject to final enrollment data. If your first-choice class does not launch we will work with you to arrange an alternative or a refund.

HEY

Mondays & Thursdays 10 -12:30 Eastern

7:00am—9:30am Pacific / 9:00am—11:30am Central / 5:00pm—7:30pm Israel

*The schedule for the Hey class is unique during the Summer 2023 session. Please see this chart for dates and details.

ADVANCED

Mondays* OR Thursdays10-12:30 Eastern

7:00am—9:30am Pacific / 9:00am—11:30am Central / 5:00pm—7:30pm Israel

*Students have the option of joining either on Monday or on Thursday, but should expect to only join once/week.

ISRAELI SONGS

Wednesdays 10-12:00 Eastern

7:00am—9:00am Pacific / 9:00am—11:00am Central / 5:00pm—7:00pm Israel

Timetable (IDT–GMT+2)

Testimonials

{

The Hebrew Ulpan jumpstarted my desire and ability to move to a new level.

5
Barbara
{

This class really has it all – speaking, reading, grammar, Israeli culture and history. Definitely a 5-star experience.

5
Amy
{

Having been a student for years, I had great expectations which I hoped would be met. To my delight, every one of my expectations were exceeded. I can really feel that my Hebrew reading ability and speaking ability have made a great leap!

5
Rabbi Jerome

JOIN AS A NEW OR CONTINUING STUDENT!

Ulpan FAQs

How Many Hours of Instruction is Ulpan?
Each Ulpan BaBayit semester is 10 weeks.

Levels Alef through Hey meet twice a week for 2.5 hours, for a total of 50 hours.
The Advanced class meets once a week for
2.5 hours, for a total of 25 hours.
The Israeli Songs class meets once a week for 2 hours, for a total of 20 hours.

The Spring 2024 Session will take place from April 1 through June 27, 2024.

The Summer 2024 Session will take place from July 22 through September 26, 2024.

How Do I Know Which Level I'm In?

You will be placed in a level according to the results of your Hebrew Placement Exam, which you will receive following your registration. Depending on which level we think is right for you, the instructor of that course may be in touch with further assessment tools before the semester starts.

What if I’m Placed in the Wrong Level?

If you feel that you have not been placed in the appropriate level, you may switch classes after the start of the semester in coordination with Ulpan BaBayit faculty.

If the class for your level does not register enough students to open, our team will guide you to other Hebrew classes and learning opportunities at the CY. If none of these are the right fit you will be awarded a full refund.

Do I Need a Textbook?

All classes, except for Israeli Songs and the Advanced level, use a digital textbook published by Magnes Press which must be purchased separately by each student. The cost of the textbook ranges from $25–30.

Teachers will inform their students of the specific textbook requirements at the beginning of the course.

How Much Does it Cost?

Ulpan BaBayit Levels Alef though Hey: $720*

Advanced Class (with Meira Stern-Glick): $350

Israeli Songs (with Meira Stern-Glick): $280

 

*Please note that this price does not include the textbook.