PROJECT ODED

Project Oded Mini-Courses ONLINE

2022 marks FJC’s 50th Anniversary. Project Oded is one of our ongoing programs which has provided Jewish educational opportunities in various topics. This winter Project Oded is back from the comfort of your computer!

Our mini-mester will run January 30-March 2, 2022.

Sign up for one to five classes – The more you learn, the less you pay!
One course: $36
Two courses: $60
Three courses: $85
Four courses: $100
Five courses: $120

 

Women Who Built the State

Women Who Built the State

Peta Pellach | Sundays 9am-10am PST / 12pm-1pm EST / 5pm-6pm London / 6pm-7pm Europe/ 7pm-8pm Israel

The Zionist narrative is quite different when we tell it from the perspective of the women who built the State of Israel. This course celebrates the achievements and contributions of  women. Their stories are powerful and inspiring.

Queen Esther Meets the Rabbis

Queen Esther Meets the Rabbis

Rabbi Vernon Kurtz | Mondays 9am-10am PST / 12pm-1pm EST / 5pm-6pm London / 6pm-7pm Europe/ 7pm-8pm Israel

The Scroll of Esther is one of the most beloved books in the Bible. Yet, its story is rather complex. We will study together texts in the Talmud and the Midrash which will enlighten us as to how the Rabbis understood the story. It will be a great way to prepare for the holiday of Purim.

The Siddur: A Tool for Moral Education

The Siddur: A Tool for Moral Education

Bracha Feder | Tuesdays 9am-10am PST / 12pm-1pm EST / 5pm-6pm London / 6pm-7pm Europe/ 7pm-8pm Israel

We will explore the image of human beings that is reflected in the act of prayer. Examining tefillot we will uncover the values, behaviours and mindset they encourage.

Song of Songs: The Love Revolution

Song of Songs: The Love Revolution

Benjamin Segal | Wednesdays 9am-10am PST / 12pm-1pm EST / 5pm-6pm London / 6pm-7pm Europe/ 7pm-8pm Israel

Five sessions on the Song of Songs  (1) as literature; (2) the nature of life; (3) women and the gender revolution; (4) eroticism (and metaphor); and (5) new implications for divine love.

Ezra and Nehemiah: A Glimpse of Judaism to Come?

Ezra and Nehemiah: A Glimpse of Judaism to Come?

Vered Hollander-Goldfarb | Thursdays 9am-10am PST / 12pm-1pm EST / 5pm-6pm London / 6pm-7pm Europe/ 7pm-8pm Israel

The Jews returning from Babylon came with great dreams, but the reality in Judah (where they settled) was complicated and harsh.  Then came Ezra, followed by Nehemiah. They changed the face of their generation, and they changed the face of Judaism. 

*There will be no class on Thursday, February 17 – an alternative class will be provided.